AJRS Editorial Team

Editorial team

The Australasian Journal of Regional Studies is co-edited by two distinguished members of the Association.

The editors are:

Professor Mike Hefferan

Mike Hefferan

Professor Mike Hefferan has recently retired as the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Engagement) and the Professor of Property and Development at the University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland.  He is also an Adjunct Professor at the Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane.
Mike was previously the Director of the Institute for Sustainable Resources at the Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane – a cross-faculty organisation of almost 200 researchers with particular interests in resource management, sustainable built environments and social dimensions of change.
For more than 15 years previously, he was an Executive Director within the State Government with industry development, property development and asset management responsibilities.  He had a major role in Queensland’s Smart State program, particularly related to regional development and research initiatives and funding.
Mike has a PhD, Masters of Applied Science and postgraduate Management qualifications.  He is a Registered Urban and Rural Valuer, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, Urban Development Institute of Australia, Australian Property Institute (API) and Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS).  He was the long-time chair of the National Education Board and past president of the Queensland Division of the API. 

Professor Bruce Wilson

bruce sm



Professor Bruce Wilson is Director of the European Union Centre at RMIT University, and Australian coordinator for the PASCAL International Observatory. He has had long experience in working with all levels of government on organisational and social change, and is committed to linking researchers and policy makers with city and regional governments in policy formation related to social and economic policy, innovation, lifelong learning and environment 

Editorial Board

The journal also has an international Editorial Board, including scholars of high repute in the fields within the scope of the journal. The members of the Editorial Board are:

Andrew Beer; University of South Australia; Adelaide, Australia
John Madden, Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia
Kevin O'Connor, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia
Terry Clower, George Mason University, Arlington VA, USA
Geoff Hewings, University of Illinois, Urbana USA
Jacques Poot, University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand
Scott Baum, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia
Gordon Mulligan, University of Arisona, Tucson, USA
Jan Oosterhaven, University of Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands